Ivan Roth Award 

Established in 1997 and first awarded in 1998, this award is in honor of Ivan L. Roth, Professor Emeritus of Microbiology at the University of Georgia. He was a long-time member of the Branch, gave freely of himself in many capacities to further the work of the Branch, and served for many years as the Branch Archivist. He was always ready and willing to help others and was especially supportive of students and others new to the field ofmicrobiology. This award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the Southeastern Branch of ASM and is deemed to have given notable and significant service to the Branch.  

2012 Valery Harwood  
2011 Omar A. Oyarzabal, Alabama State University
2010 Benjie Blair, Jacksonville State University
2008 James Barbaree, Auburn University
2007 Donald McGarey, Kennesaw State University
2006 Laura B. Regassa, Georgia Southern University
2005 John Maurer, University of Georgia
2004 Daniel Lim, University of South Florida
2002 Elisabeth Elder, GA Southwestern College
2001 Gregory J. Stewart, State University of West Georgia
1999 Gene Michaels, University of Georgia
1998 Sylvia Coleman, University of Florida; Henry Aldrich, University of Florida